Classical 91.5

Winners Announced at New York’s Inaugural Female Composers’ Competition

Mar 5, 2018

1st Prize Winner, Emma O’Halloran from Ireland

The 2018 winners of the 1st Hildegard Competition have been announced.  The Hildegard Competition recognizes rising female and non-binary composers.

The 2018 1st prize winners are:

  • Emma O’Halloran (pictured here) from Ireland
  • X. Lee from the United States
  • Kayla Cashetta from the United States

Selected from 140 international applicants, each winner will receive US $7,000, intensive mentoring – and a New York City performance at the National Sawdust Theatre in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

Learn more about the competition and the winners.